Home Inspection Requirements for North Carolina
Ordinance and ContactsDistance education is allowed for the classroom portion of the 120 hour pre-licensing course. The 80 required field training hours must be gained in the field. CE distance education is allowed
Distance education is allowed for the classroom portion of the 120 hour pre-licensing course. The 80 required field training hours must be gained in the field. CE distance education is allowed.
The North Carolina Licensure (Chapter 143, Article 9F) enacted in 1993.The North Carolina “Home Inspection Licensure Act” provides for the licensing and regulation of home inspectors through the creation of a Home Inspector Licensure Board within the Department of Insurance. In order to become licensed as a home inspector, an individual must pass the licensing examination prescribed by the Board, have minimum net assets or a bond in an amount determined by the Board (not less than $5,000 nor more than $10,000) and meet certain educational conditions, including: have a high school diploma or its equivalent. have education and experience the Board considers to be equivalent to that in subpart 1. Above; or be licensed as a general contractor, architect, or professional engineer.
North Carolina Home Inspector License Board
325 N. Salisbury Street
Raleigh NC 27603-5926
Office of State Fire Marshall
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh NC 27699-1201
Phone: (919) 647-0027
Fax: (919) 715-0067