Home Inspection Requirements for Louisiana
Ordinance and Contacts
Louisiana Licensure (Chapter 17-A of Title 37) enacted in 1999
Louisiana law creates the "Louisiana Home Inspectors Licensing Act." It creates the Louisiana State Board of Home Inspectors within the Department of Economic Development and requires the Board to establish minimum qualifications for licensing and allows the Board to charge and collect fees. Applicants must be at least 18 years old and must have successfully completed high school or its equivalent, and passed the National Home Inspector Examination. Applicants must show evidence of successful completion of at least 120 hours of instruction, at least 30 hours but no more than 40 of which must be in course work containing actual practical home inspections. Attend Report Writing Seminar given by LSBHI or it’s approved providers. As a condition of renewal of a license, a home inspector must show evidence of completion of 30 hours for first year inspectors and 20 hours of continuing education for all subsequent years. Active licensees are required to carry errors and omission insurance. (minimum 300,000 Errors and Omissions and 300,000 General Liability coverage).
For more information, including General Rules, Standards of Practice, applications and more, contact the Louisiana State Board of Home Inspectors at:
Address: 5211 Essen Lane Suite 9
Baton Rouge LA 70809