Home Inspection Requirements for Washington
Ordinance and ContactsRequirements for licensing of home inspectors will begin July 1, 2009. Governor Gregoire signed senate bill 6606 into law. Effective (6/12/2008) *Anyone who can prove he/she has worked as a home inspector for at least two years may apply to the board before September 1 2009. Anyone with less than two years must meet all requirements. Statute RCW 18.280.
Get Educated & Receive Training
To fulfill your education requirements: Take a Washington State Home Inspectors Board-approved, 120-hour Fundamentals of Home Inspection course. AND Mentor with an experienced home inspector for 40 hours of field training and 5 actual inspections.
Submit an Exam Application
To submit visit here: Home Inspector Examination Application
Take the Home Inspectors Exam
The Home Inspectors Exam fee is $300 payable when you schedule your exam.
Apply for Your Home Inspectors License
Complete the Home Inspector License Application
Home Inspectors Department of Licensing
PO Box 3917
Seattle, WA 98124-3917