Home Inspection Requirements for Nevada

Home Inspection Regulated
Yes

License Type
Residential Inspector License

License Renewal Cycle
Every Two Years

Is Distance Education Allowed
No

Is Field Training And Experience Required
Yes

Experience Required
Observation of 25 inspections performed by certified general inspector or an instuctor approved by the commission.-Must also demonstrate ability to produce a complete and credible inspection report-must submit log of inpections observed.

Is CE Required
Yes

CE Hours Required
20 Hours*

Is CE Distance Education Allowed
Yes

Is Pre-Licensing Required
Yes

Pre-licensing Hours Required
40 Hours w/ proctored exam

Regulating Body
Real Estate Division of the Department of Business & Industry

Rules And Regulations
645D.210/645D.435/645D.4365

Exam
An applicant for a certificate must take and pass an examination administered by the Division or an agent designated by the Division.



*Must complete 20 hours of Continuing education every 2 years-with 3 hours of safety and 3 hours of law approved by the Division

Nevada Home Inspection Training

Nevada Certification (NRS 645D.120 and NAC 645D.210) enacted in 1997. Nevada law provides for the certification of home inspectors of structures by the Rea l Estate Division of the Department of Business and Industry. An applicant for certification as a certified residential Inspector: (a) must furnish proof to the Division that he has successfully completed 1) not less than 40 hours of academic Instruction In subjects related to structural Inspections In courses approved by the Division or equivalent experience as an Inspector, and 2) an examination approved by the Division, and (b) must possess a high school diploma or Its equivalent. Experience as an Inspector must demonstrate ability of the applicant to produce a credible Inspection report according to the standards and requirements set in the statute and codes. Applicants must submit to the Division a log of Inspections performed for a fee on a form supplied by the Division. Applicants must submit proof that they have errors and omissions insurance of at least $100,000 and general liability insurance of at least $100,000. The law also provides that a purchaser may not recover damages from a seller on the basis of an error or omission in the disclosure form that was caused by the seller's reliance upon informant ion provided to the seller by a certified inspector of real estate.
For more information, contact Department of Business and Industry, Real Estate Division at:

Phone: (775) 687-4280
Fax: (775) 687-4868

Or

State of Nevada Real Estate Division
Ingrid Trillo: (702) 486-4033
2501 E. Sahara Avenue, Ste. 101
Las Vegas, NV 89104-4137