Home Inspection Requirements for Kentucky
*64 hours total with at 16 hours of actual inspection ( 8 hours in a lab and 8 hours in field training)- 3 home inspections **14 a year for Kentucky licensed home inspectors, and 15 a year for alternative (non-kentucky) licensees.
Kentucky Home Inspection Training
Kentucky Licensure (KRS 198B.700) enacted in 2004. The Kentucky Home Inspector Licensing Law requires home inspectors to be licensed and defines the requirements of licensure. An inspector must be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma or GED equivalent, complete a board-approved training program, pass an examination approved by the board, and submit a properly completed application (Form KBHI-1). No person can advertise or claim to be a licensed home inspector or perform a home inspection for compensation after July 1, 2006, unless they have been issued a Kentucky Home Inspector License by the Kentucky Board of Home Inspectors. Conducting business as a home inspector in Kentucky without a license is a criminal offense after July 1, 2006. Inspections must be conducted in accordance with the standards of practice of ASHI, NAHI or NACHI. The law created the Kentucky Board of Home Inspectors, to which the Governor appointed eight members, including one member each from ASHI, NAHI, and the Kentucky Real Estate Inspection Association. The law also establishes license renewal criteria, including completing 28 hours of continuing education approved by the Kentucky Board of Home Inspectors (KBHI) every two years. Licensed inspectors must carry general liability insurance in the amount of $250,000.
For more information contact the Kentucky Office of Housing, Buildings and Construction at:
Phone: (502) 573-0373 extension 201 (Terry Slade)
Fax: (502) 573-1057
Kentucky Board of Home Inspectors
Division of Occupations & Professions at:
Phone: (502) 564-3296 (Diana Jarboe)
Fax: (502) 564-4818